Theatre Works presents

MEDEA: Out of the Mouths of Babes

DIRECTED BY STEVEN MITCHELL WRIGHT
A THEATRE WORKS PRODUCTION

30 July - 20 August

MEDEA: OUT OF THE MOUTHS OF BABES is Theatre Works’ new production based on Euripides’ MEDEA as recalled and reimagined from the fantastical minds of her (allegedly?) slain children. History is told by the victors, and myths preserved by those in power, but perhaps it is the youngest that grip the hardest truths?

Medea, arguably one of the darkest tales Western theatrical canon, is given a fresh and surprisingly playful rebirth as told from the point of view of its undoubtedly most important characters: Medea’s children.

This daring amalgamation of theatrical forms plays out like a surreal living music video with film projection, live feed and song.

Developed by the Theatre Works’ award-winning creative team and a council of children, who through a guided workshop process will refract Euripides and his ancient characters to form the basis of the script, the design and theatrical language of the work.

VCE Playlist 2022. For school bookings, please see EDUCATION page under 'ABOUT'.

VENUE

Theatre Works

DURATION

75min (approx)

WARNINGS

This production contains mild coarse language, simulated violence, sexual references, gore, loud sound, flashing lights and haze effects.

DATES & TIMES

Saturday 30 July, 7:30pm Preview Night
Tuesday 2 August, 7:30pm Preview Night
Wednesday 3 August, 7:30pm Opening Night
Thursday 4 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Friday 5 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Saturday 6 August, 7:30pm
Tuesday 9 August, 7:30pm
Wednesday 10 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Thursday 11 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Friday 12 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Saturday 13 August, 7:30pm
Tuesday 16 August, 7:30pm
Wednesday 17 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Thursday 18 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Friday 19 August, 11am & 7:30pm
Saturday 20 August 7:30pm

DIRECTOR
Steven Mitchell Wright (he/him)
CAST
Paolo Bartolomei (he/him)
Emily Joy (she/her)
Willow Sizer (she/they)
VIDEO ARTIST 
Chris Bennett, Underground Media (he/him)
DESIGNER
Hahnie Goldfinch (she/her)
LIGHTING DESIGNER
Ben Hughes (he/him)
SOUND DESIGNER
Rachel Lewindon
STAGE & PRODUCTION MANAGER
Holly Anderson (they/them)
TECH MANAGER
Tom Ray (he/him)
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR
Belle Hansen (she/her)
LIGHTING DESIGN ASSOCIATE
Spencer Herd (he/him)
ASSISTANT STAGE MANAGERS
Brigette Jennings (she/her) & Sarah Falzon (she/her)
ASSOCIATE PROJECT PRODUCER
Katie Rowe (she/her)
PRODUCER
Theatre Works
PHOTOS  BY
Underground Media

thumbnail_TDE_newlogo_whiteontransparentBLACK.png