Theatre Works and
Kissing Booth PRESENT

5 Stars

by Jake Stewart

14 - 25 June 2022

This play exists because an actor met a playwright and the world exploded.

Jake Stewart has written a play about a lovesick playwright and the actor he adores, as they go about trying to make a piece of theatre together.

This is a play about why that play exists, written by a lovesick playwright, starring opposite the actor that he adores.

A broken, perspiring, kaleidoscopic catastrophe, this world premiere will see Jake Stewart and Joel Beasley take to the stage and finally get to the bottom of whether they can live without an audience or certainty or each other. Searching with spotlights through their shared history, their complicated relationship might actually get a whole bunch worse after whatever this is.

5 STARS is a goofy gay ferocious gagfest, a few years and breakdowns in the making.

VENUE

Theatre Works

DURATION

90 MINUTES

WARNINGS

Coarse Language, Adult Concepts and Violence.

DATES & TIMES

Tuesday 14 June, 7:30PM (Preview)
Wednesday 15 June, 7:30PM (Opening Night)
Thursday 16 June, 7:30PM
Friday 17 June, 7:30PM
Saturday 18 June, 7:30PM
Tuesday, 21 June, 7:30PM
Wednesday 22 June, 7:30PM
Thursday 23 June, 7:30PM
Friday 24 June, 7:30PM
Saturday 25 June, 7:30PM

WRITTEN BY
Jake Stewart
ADAPTED BY
Dominic Weintraub, Jake Stewart, and Joel Beasley
STARRING
Joel Beasley and Jake Stewart
LIGHTING DESIGN BY
Harrie Hogan

REVIEWS - 'Leopard Print Loincloth'
(Written by Jake Stewart, Directed by Dominic Weintraub, and starring Joel Beasley)

“hilarious and thoughtful, brutal and sensitive.”
THEATRE TRAVELS

“verbally acrobatic and physically daring”
BE MELBOURNE

“Jake Stewart’s genius is at work.”
THEATRE TRAVELS