Support Theatre Works


Ongoing support of Theatre Works is vital to foster the development of Australian theatre and to provide a forum for all that is creative and dynamic in St Kilda and Melbourne.

Hannie Rayson, founding member of Theatre Works and acclaimed author of Hotel Sorrento and Life after George

In 2015 Theatre Works is celebrating 35 years of staging hundreds of productions and supporting thousands of actors, producers, directors, designers, stage managers and so many other artists that have come through our doors.

Theatre Works is more than a venue; we are a not for profit organisation passionately committed to enabling artists to achieve their creative dreams. We are asking you to come on the journey with us Building The Bridge 

Our Bridge Donor Program  needs your help to continue to provide artists with outstanding creative opportunities and provide audiences with some of the most ambitious, bold and exciting contemporary performances. And what better time to join?

Help us Light up Theatre Works in 2015

We need to upgrade our lighting grid. Besides it needing some very urgent maintenance, the size and scale of the shows that we are supporting have developed so much that our current lighting rig just doesn’t cut it.  In order to be able to continue to light up all our exciting shows in 2015 and beyond we need your support. And we need it now. The maintenance and upgrade will mean, in the long term, that we will also be able to have aerial circus work in the space. A long-time wish of ours.

Of course there are many other areas that you can direct your support also such as creative development of new works, mentoring programs, productions, Community Connect Program and Education Connect Program.

Become part of the BRIDGE program and enjoy benefits such as acknowledgment in the annual programme, invitations to Bridge donor program events including pre show canapés and drinks, meeting the artists, Q&A sessions and guest speakers and concessional ticket pricing for Guardians and beyond. 

We welcome donations of all amounts - no amount is too small! 

All donations above $2 are tax deductible and donations of $100 or more are recognised through membership of the Bridge Donor Program.

Become part of the BRIDGE program as a:

  • Supporter: $100+
  • Advocate: $500+
  • Guardian: $1,000+
  • Champion: $2,500+
  • Ambassador: $5,000+
  • Visionary: $10,000 +

and choose where you would like to see your donation directed towards:

(1)   Extend The Bridge        -  Creative Development of New Works

(2)   Extend The Bridge        -  Mentoring Program

(3)   Extend The Bridge        -   Productions

(4)   Broaden The Bridge      -  Community Connect Program

(5)   Broaden The Bridge      -   Education Connect Program

(6)   Strengthen The Bridge -  General

(7)   Lighting Grid 2015         - 35th Anniversary Drive

Make a donation online securely through GIVENOW's secure giving portal - please click here - or contact the Development Manager, for more information.

And let us take this opportunity to thank you for your support of independent theatre in Australia, the engine room of tomorrow and the creative risk-takers of today.

Bridge Donor Program

The following generous people are current members of the Bridge Donor Program


Tom Buchan
Ruth Krawat
Virginia Lovett
Ros Willett


Margaret Bourke
Alison Richards
Meredith Rogers
Andrew Walker& Michelle Buxton


Simon Abrahams
Nicole Beyer
Andrew Bleby
Judy Buchan
Peter Burch
Christopher Chaundy
Suzanne Chaundy
Daniel Clarke
Daniel Coghlan
Rhyll Dorrington
Philip Evans
Madeleine Fogarty
Suzanne Heywood
Andrew Hooper
Wendy Lasica
Katie McLeish
Chris Mier
Jillian Murray
Martina Murray
Liam Nankervis
Jo Porter
Jerry Remkes
Anne Stonier
Wendy Sturgess
Meg Upton
Anouk van Dijk

Arts Victoria logo Australia Council logo

Theatre Works respectfully acknowledges the Yalukit Willam Clan of the Boon Wurrung who are the traditional custodians of this land. We pay our respect to their Elders, both past and present. We acknowledge and uphold their continuing relationship to this land and extend that respect to other Indigenous Australians who join us at Theatre Works.